Skip to content

Getting ‘Warmed Up!’

August 9, 2010

Alright ladies and gentlemen, here’s the first knitting adventure that I will lovingly invite you to be a part of…the “Warm Up America Afghan.” The pattern comes from this awesome book my friend, Helen, gave me. I chose all my colors about…mmmmm…two years ago at a knit shop in Clarkesville that has since closed. Sad. It’s a washable cascade yarn.

warmup1

So I’m at knitting, so proud of my colors for my afghan, and my dear friend, Charles, one of the most talented knitters on the planet ( I’m not kidding, he’s recently been published in this book), notifies me that my colors are great, but the white isn’t working. I totally trust him and  his designer eye. He was actually quite right. I still have yet to replace the white, white yarn with a more cream color that will blend better, but I did make a nice little baby blanket out of the white I had (points for doing something-yay!).

I do love that with this project, when I get sick of one color, I can switch to another at any point. I can also do the same with the patterns. This has been my “stitch-and-talk-a-lot” project….it’ s just that I still seem to only talk most of the time!

warmup3

IMG_7155

warmup4

So, I’m going to try and finish this during our soon-to-begin “Mama Mornings” or “Playgroup” or whatever you can help me come up with to call it. There are so.many.babies on our little campus these days, which is super exciting for us mamas who will soon set up a day of the week to get together and knit (or whatever the craft may be) and witness massive baby play. Fun, right!?

I know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 2:24 pm

    Love it! I would loooove to knit a blanket, but even a baby blanket makes me nuts after awhile. A block blanket with different stitches is a fabulous idea 😉

  2. August 9, 2010 4:00 pm

    i love this blog and love to hear about your knitting and whatever else you want to talk about! Black Mountain has a new yarn shop that looks really cool and beautiful. I think you would like it.

    • August 9, 2010 4:08 pm

      ooooh. This is great to know since i will be up there THIS WEEKEND for Beers and Ears! Will you be there? Will we get to introduce our be-bes? Hope so.

  3. August 11, 2010 7:30 pm

    Can’t wait to see the blanket!!! Proud of you for learning how to knit and your knitting group sounds like such a fun time! See you this weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

