Skip to content

Skip to the Food

August 11, 2010

I knew I wouldn’t make it running on knitting alone. Food was bound to pop in and dominate at some point. I just love it so much. This is just something wonderful that I stumbled upon two nights ago in searching for what to make for dinner. It was so good, in fact, that we made it again last night!

2 zucchinis and several fresh ears of corn were atop my counter. One of my favorite things in the world to make, and my typical reason for buying zucchini at the market, is zucchini egg foo yung from this excellent cookbook. I guess I over-made it in our first 8 years or so of marriage, because when I mention it, hubbie gets this tired look on his face that is to say, “please don’t make me endure it…again.” And sauteed zucchini and onion with corn on the cob is somewhat cliche in our kitchen these days as well. So I went to AllRecipes.com because they have a nifty “ingredients” button. I typed in zucchini, and corn. I was skeptical clicking on  and even preparing this one recipe for “zucchini pie.” It didn’t even have a picture, nor very good reviews. What it was, however, was de.licious and sooooo easy. I made a few modifications both nights, so here’s my recipe:

SUMMER VEGGIE PIE

1 med. zucchini, grated

1 ear of white sweet corn (or whatever), kernels cut off

1 med. tomato, chopped (leave its juices!)

1/2 sweet onion, diced

2 eggs

3/4 Cup of Bisquick

1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard

1 Cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350°. Mix everything together in a mixing bowl.  Pour into a lightly greased 9-inch pie plate and bake for 45 minutes. Let cool slightly and enjoy with a green salad!

vegpie1

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 4:30 pm

    Degree symbol!!! It’s alt 2 4 8 all at the same time 🙂
    Glad for the recipe… can’t wait to try it!

  2. August 11, 2010 7:32 pm

    Does MC stand for Martha Ctewart? ok so that joke was mainly for Brian

    • August 11, 2010 9:31 pm

      ahhahahahaha! Everything I know I learned from watching Martha Stewart between classes in college (that’s not entirely true).

Leave a Reply

